RTA Awards 2016

On November 21st, the RTA School of Media held its annual Scholarship Awards Luncheon to recognize high-performing students with a wide range of scholarships. This year, over $90,000 in scholarships were awarded to 42 students based on their performance in the 2015-2016 school year. A huge thank you to all of our award donors and supporters for their generous contributions, and a hearty congratulations to all of our winners!

*NEW* Alison Gordon Memorial Award in Sport Journalism - Daniele Franceschi ($1,000)

*NEW* Karen Miller-Tait Memorial Award - Samuel Legros ($1,000)

*NEW* Scott Moore Award in Sport Media - Raffaella Lala Keshishian ($5,000)

*NEW* TSN Sports Feature Production Award - Jared Armstrong and Jesse Pollock ($1,000)

The Canadian Association of Broadcast Representatives Award - Alexandra Kleinert ($2,000)

Spencer Caldwell Memorial Scholarship - Colin Crawford ($1,000)

Marci Ien and Dwight Drummond Award - Laura Garrido and Matthew Vocino ($1000 each)

Delvinia Digital Innovation and Entrepreneurship Award - Samuel Legros ($2,500)

Fairchild Scholarships - Mandy Sham and Katherine Nguyen ($3,500 each)

Wilf Fielding Memorial Award in Live Special Events Production - Keerthika Uthayakumar ($1,000)

FLOW 93.5 FM Milestone Award - Sierra Sun ($1,450)

Joana Fraser Award - Monica Zou ($500)

William Harding Memorial Award - Janna Miller ($200)

Matt Jesson Award - Julia Wittmann ($1,250)

Ross Lewchuk Memorial Award - Lily Yang ($1,000)

Johnny Lombardi Creative Endowment Award - Katherine Nguyen ($3,950)

Stuart and Pat MacKay "Good Citizenship" Award - Laura Heidenheim ($1,000)

Krista Maeots Award - Mandy Sham ($300)

ORT Micki Moore Project Award - Josephine Tse and Justine Riches ($1,000 each)

Syd Perlmutter Entrance Award - Jake Benaim ($3,000 annual amount over 4 years)

Justin Poy Agency Award - Laura Heidenheim ($900)

Pride Award for Diversity and Inclusion - James Chouangsirivong ($1,000)

Rho Alpha Kappa Alumni Association Awards - Mikael Melo and Tyler Keating ($1,450 each)

Glenn Sarty Memorial Award - Laura Heidenheim and Josephine Tse ($1,000 shared equally)

Henry Shannon Award - Perry Newsome ($350)

Allan Slaight Entrance Award - Anna Park and Lily Robbins ($7,000 each) 

Sportsnet Scholarship - Samuel Kourkouliotis and Jared Armstrong ($1,000 each)

Ernest O. Swan Memorial Scholarship - Brittany Starkman ($625)

Phyllis Switzer CTV/Broadcast Management Award - Angela Alimi ($2,500)

Phyllis Switzer Memorial Award - Piper Dedels ($2,150)

Barbara Turnbull Award - Julianna Romanyk ($1,000)

Arthur Weinthal Award - Brittany Starkman ($850)

Henry White Kinnear International Exchange Student Award - Gillian Pownall, Sierra Sun & Christina Chen ($1,000 each)

Best Documentary Award - “Together is Home” by Alex Vella, Julia Costa, Sam Gamper, & Adam Gualtieri ($1,000 shared)

*NEW* Alan Sawyer Memorial Award - Rebekah Miskin ($2,500)

Aditya Jha Graduate Award in Media Production - Ramadhanu Luksiarto and Keeghann Sinanan ($2,898 each)

Johnny Lombardi Creative Endowment Graduate Award in Media Production - Courtnery Lascelles-McAllister ($4,510)

OUTtv Award in Master of Arts in Media Production - Ramadhanu Luksiarto ($5,000)